What Province is Shanghai In – Get to Know

What province is shanghai in
5/5 - (1 vote)

Shanghai, China is one of the most populous provinces in the country with over 23 million people. It is located in the southeast region of the country and borders Jiangsu to the north, Zhejiang to the west, and Anhui to the south. The province has a coastline on the East China Sea as well as numerous rivers and lakes. The economy of Shanghai is highly dependent on trade and manufacturing.

Is Shanghai a province capital?

Shanghai is the largest city in China and ranks as one of the world’s leading financial centers. The municipality was initially designated as a “province capital” in 1927, but it lost this designation with the establishment of the People’s Republic of China. Shanghai resumed its status as a provincial capital in 1996.

Note: The People’s Republic of China claims Taiwan as one of its provinces, which it does not control.

About Shanghai

Shanghai is one of the twenty-four provinces of China. Located in the coastal area of eastern China, it is the most populous province, with a population of more than 23 million as of 2010. The province is bounded by Jiangsu to the north, Zhejiang to the west, Anhui to the south, and Fujian to the east. Shanghai’s coastline stretches for over 640 kilometers (400 miles). Covering an area of over 8,500 square kilometers (3,500 square miles), Shanghai is ranked fourth in China in terms of urban population and second in terms of GDP (PPP) after Beijing.

Shanghai, formerly known as Hangzhou and known today simply as Shanghai, is a city located in the eastern part of China. The city has long been an important trading center and played a significant role in the country’s modernization process. Shanghai was originally a fishing village and market town, but it grew rapidly in importance in the 19th century due to both domestic and foreign trade. The favorable geographical location helped make Shanghai one of the most important ports in East Asia. Today, Shanghai is one of China’s leading economic and cultural centers.

RegionEast China
Settledc. 4000 BC
Establishment of
 – Qinglong Town

 – Huating County [zh]751
 – Shanghai County1292
 – Municipality7 July 1927
City CouncilShanghai Municipal People’s Congress
 – County-level
 – Township-

16 districts
210 towns and subdistricts
 • TypeMunicipality
 • CCP SecretaryLi Qiang
 • Congress ChairmanJiang Zhuoqing
 • MayorGong Zheng
 • Municipal CPPCC ChairmanDong Yunhu 
 • National People’s Congress Representation58 deputies
 • Municipality6,341 km2 (2,448 sq mi)
 • Water697 km2 (269 sq mi)
 • Metro14,922.7 km2 (5,761.7 sq mi)
Elevation4 m (13 ft)
Highest elevation (Sheshan Hill)118 m (387 ft)
 • Municipality24,870,895
 • Rank1st in China
 • Density3,900/km2 (10,000/sq mi)
 • Metro41,354,149
 • Metro density2,800/km2 (7,200/sq mi)
Time zoneUTC+08:00 (CST)
Postal code200000–202100
Area code(s)21
ISO 3166 codeCN-SH
 – Total¥4.32 trillion
$680 billion (nominal)
$1.035 trillion (PPP)
 – Per capita¥173,697
$27,342 (nominal)
$41,624 (PPP)
 – Growth 8.1%
HDI (2019)0.873
License plate prefixes沪A, B, D, E, F, G, H, J, K, L, M, N
沪C (outer suburbs only)
AbbreviationSH / 沪 ()
City flowerYulan magnolia
Standard Mandarin
Websitewww.shanghai.gov.cn (in Chinese)

About Shanghai Name

Shanghai, the largest city in China and one of the world’s most cosmopolitan, literally means “up above” and “sea.” The earliest occurrence of this name dates from the Song Dynasty. At that time, Shanghai was located at the mouth of the Huangpu River on the lower reaches of the Yangtze River. Over time, Shanghai grew up along both banks of the river. Today, it is a major commercial center with a population of over 23 million people. Shanghai is also home to numerous universities and research institutes.

Shanghai, formerly known as Shanghai Municipality, is one of the four direct-controlled municipalities of China. Located in the northeastern part of the country, it borders Jiangsu and Zhejiang provinces to the south and east respectively, and is bounded by Russia to the north. With a total area of 2,590 km2, it has a population of over 23 million people. Shanghai’s abbreviations are H  (or Sh n) which comes from its ancient name Suzhou River. The character Sh n was pronounced like “H” in English and represented the sound “sh” in Old Chinese.

Geography and Climate

Shanghai is located in the northeast of China, facing the East China Sea (part of the Pacific Ocean) and bisected by the Huangpu River. Puxi contains the city proper on the western side, while Shanghai County occupies most of the eastern section of metropolitan Shanghai. The municipality administers 22 districts, all of which were formerly counties. Shanghai is one of China’s richest cities and one of its most cosmopolitan. It has been home to successive waves of immigrants who have helped create a distinctive culture in Shanghai.

Shanghai, a province in the east of China, experiences all four seasons. In winter, temperatures can drop as low as -10 degrees C (-14 degrees F) and there is an average high of only 32 degrees C (90 degrees F). During summer, Shanghai experiences an average high of 37 degrees C (99 degrees F), while in autumn it has an average high of 31 degrees C (87.8 degrees F). In winter, the city can experience very cold temperatures with wind chills reaching -25 degrees C (-13 degrees F).

  • December is a month with a lot of cold and cloudy weather. In Shanghai, this usually means rain.
  • December usually has mild temperatures, with highs reaching around 15 degrees Celsius (59 degrees Fahrenheit).
  • The best time to visit Shanghai in December is when the sky is clear and the air is cool but not cold.
  • If you are looking for some beautiful holiday decorations, you will want to wait until January or February, when the city starts to bustle with tourists again.


In conclusion, Shanghai is in the province of Jiangsu. It is a very large and populous city with many attractions and activities to enjoy. Shanghai has been a major center of trade and commerce for centuries and remains one of China’s most important economic hubs.